To Daniel E. Sickles

My dear General,                           Washington, July 10, 1863.

I understand you are troubled with some report that the 3rd Corps has sustained a disaster, or repulse. I can only say that I have watched closely, and believe I have seen all the despatches at the Military Telegraph Office up to a half hour ago, one from Ingalls, with the Army, reaching here since this morning, and I havePage  323heard of no such disaster or repulse. I add that I do not believe there has been any such. Yours truly,

A. LINCOLN.

 

Leave a Reply

