To Andrew G. Curtin

Gov. Curtin                  Executive Mansion,
Harrisburg, Pa.         Washington, May 2. 1863.

Gen. Halleck tells me he has a despatch from Gen. Schenck this morning, informing him that our forces have joined, and that the enemy menacing Penn. will have to fight or run to-day. I hope I am not less anxious to do my duty to Pennsylvania, than yourself; but I really do not yet see the justification for incurring the trouble and expense of calling out the militia. I shall keep watch and try to do my duty. A. LINCOLN

P.S. Our forces are exactly between the enemy and Pennsylvania.

A. LINCOLN

Leave a Reply

