To Irvin McDowell

Gen. McDowell Washington City, D.C.
Mannassas Junction May 28, 1862—5.40. P.M.

I think the evidence now preponderates that Ewell and Jackson are still about Winchester. Assuming this, it is, for you a question of legs. Put in all the speed you can. I have told Fremont as much, and directed him to drive at them as fast as possible. By the way, I suppose you know, Fremont has got up to Moorefield, instead of going to Harrisonburg. A. LINCOLN

McDowell’s reply, received at 11:18 P.M., reads as follows: “I beg to assure you that I am doing everything which legs and steam are capable of to hurry forward matters in this quarter. I shall be deficient in wagons when I get out of the way of the railroad for transporting supplies, but shall push on nevertheless.”

Leave a Reply

