To Mrs. Susannah Weathers

Executive Mansion,
My dear Madam Washington, Dec. 4, 1861.

I take great pleasure in acknowledging the receipt of your letter of Nov. 26; and in thanking you for the present by which it was accompanied. A pair of socks so fine, and soft, and warm, could hardly have been manufactured in any other way than the old Kentucky fashion. Your letter informs me that your maiden name was Crume, and that you were raised in Washington county, Kentucky, by which I infer that an uncle of mine by marriage was a relative of yours. Nearly, or quite sixty years ago, Ralph Crume married Mary Lincoln, a sister of my father, in Washington county, Kentucky.

Accept my thanks, and believe me Very truly Your friend Mrs. Susannah Weathers A. LINCOLN.

Leave a Reply

